Canada needs to take control of their airports, not privatise them

In partnership with Toronto Airport Workers Council, which advocates on behalf of more than 30,000 workers at Toronto Pearson Airport (YYZ) represented by CUPE, IAMAW, PSAC-CIU, SEIU, UNIFOR and Teamsters 419.

Without warning, the Canadian government said they want to privatise their largest airports. Selfishly, the Greater Toronto Airport Authority (GTAA) announced their support for Toronto Pearson Airport’s (YYZ) privatization. (Executive bonus, anyone?)

Then, in the middle of bargaining, the GTAA sided with Swissport management against their employees represented by Teamsters 419. In an unprecedented move, the GTAA issued operating licenses to strike-breaking temp agencies.

Talks immediately broke down, and the Teamsters 419 are now in the third month of a bitter strike. The workers have been replaced by hundreds of inexperienced scabs, creating many safety and security concerns.


You can help! Type in your name and email address, then click on 'Send Message' on the bottom of this page.

Name:
[required]
Email address:
[required]
Your union:
Your country:
Type in your message here - or just use the existing message.



If you would like to receive future urgent action alerts from us, please check this box:

Stop spam!
Enter the number 3594 here:

Thank you





Your message will be sent to the following email addresses:
justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca, marc.garneau@parl.gc.ca, Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca, Ralph.goodale@parl.gc.ca, andrew.scheer@parl.gc.ca, Sheri.Benson@parl.gc.ca, Elizabeth.May@parl.gc.ca, David.Wilson@gtaa.com, Howard.Eng@gtaa.com, Craig.Bradbrook@gtaa.com, Ian.Clarke@gtaa.com, elma.Lussenburg@gtaa.com, Scott.Collier@gtaa.com, Martin.Boyer@gtaa.com, Hillary.Marshall@gtaa.com, pierre.payette@swissport.com, alain.thiffault@swissport.com, David.Wilson@gtaa.com, Selma.Lussenburg@gtaa.com